baking adventures

It’s been a while since I’ve actually baked something! It’s soothing! By no means am I a Martha Stewart, but I can follow a recipe.

Tonight was homemade toaster strudels. We love the ones you buy at the grocery store in the freezer section. Somewhere in my Internet trolling I saw someone had made their own.

It’s just puff pastry and filling of your choice. I wasn’t brave enough to attempt my own puff pastry.

20121207-221702.jpg

Roll out on a floured surface.

Cut. Mine are hearts. It was that or dinosaurs. Hearts seemed cuter and could hold more filling !!

Fill. Homemade jam and cream cheese. Don’t put too much or it’ll leak everywhere !

Egg wash then bake! I couldn’t remember where I found the lady’s recipe so I guess temperature and time. I put these in at 350 for 10-15 minutes.

Quick and easy 😉 we ate some and I froze the rest.

Ooh the frosting. I added powdered sugar to cream cheese until it was the consistency I wanted. It could use maybe a little vanilla.

Husband approved. And he is a massive toaster strudel fan. So that’s a win in my books !

20121207-222802.jpg

Leave a Reply

